When familiarizing yourself with these services, it's always a good idea to access them from both as a staff member and as library patron. This will allow you to give better patron service because you will be familiar with what your library patrons are working with.
The NH State Library coordinates a group purchase for Ancestry Library Edition and HeritageQuest Online.
If your library participates in either or both databases:
Review the information on the Genealogy Databases LibGuide.
If the library is a subscriber and the site requests a password, discover your library's new IPv4 address and send it to the NHSL Technology Librarian.
If your library participates in the Ancestry group purchase:
Visit https://ancestrylibrary.com while at the library to ensure your library's IP address continues to authenticate patrons.
Watch the Ancestry Library tutorial from Niche Academy.
If your library participates in the HeritageQuest group purchase:
Find the HQO link and/or ALE information on your library's website and log into HQO remotely to ensure that the library's login is still valid.
Watch the HeritageQuest Online tutorial from Niche Academy.
For additional training and practice:
Take the self-study tutorial (optional).
Search for an ancestor of your own on one of the genealogy databases.
The State Library manages the nearly statewide consortium of digital content on behalf of the 205 NH public library members. The collection consists of eBooks, digital audiobooks, and digital magazines.
Visit the NHDB website on a computer browser.
Install the Libby app on your smartphone or visit the Libby website on a computer browser and log into your library account.
Familiarize yourself with the documentation and help guides from the vendor.
View this short video on the unique read-along books for children.
Check out a magazine on a smartphone or computer browser and learn how to view an article in "article view" (instructions).
Review the NHDB collection development policy.
Review the NHDB LibGuide>> Tasks to understand that it is possible to request an account to run circulation statistics on the digital collection.
Contact the NHDB Technology Librarian if an account is needed.
Review the NHDB LibGuide >> Troubleshooting information.
Contact the NHSL Technology Librarian for additional training (optional).
The NH State Library provides access to NoveList for all public libraries. The subscription includes both NoveList Plus (fiction and nonfiction for all readers) and NoveList Plus K-8 (for younger readers).
Take the NoveList Tutorial in NicheAcademy
Familiarize yourself with the instruction found on the NoveList LibGuide.
Find and review the links to NoveList Plus and NoveList Plus K-8 from your library website.
Log into NoveList without a password from within the library.
Log into the database remotely (from home)
Use NoveList to search for a new book and find the professional reviews.
Use NoveList to find a read-alike of one of your own favorite books.
Use NoveList to locate a list of historical Christian fiction titles.
This project was made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services and the New Hampshire State Library.